Skip to content
 > Home > News


FEMA’s Critical Need Assistance Deadline is this Saturday, September 5

LAKE COUNTY, CA (September 2, 2020) –  Wildfire activity continues to threaten communities throughout California, and this emergency has resulted in a Presidential Major Disaster Declaration.  The declaration enables assistance for affected residents of Lake, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma and Yolo counties.
LNU Lightning Complex survivors are eligible to apply for federal assistance as well as housing, unemployment assistance, crisis counseling and legal services.  If you suffered losses not fully covered by private insurance, register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).
Individual Assistance is available for eligible un- or underinsured residents whose homes were damaged or destroyed.  FEMA’s Critical Need assistance can also provide lodging reimbursement to eligible applicants who were displaced from their primary dwelling.  The deadline to apply for FEMA Critical Need assistance is this Saturday, September 5, 2020.
Disaster survivors may apply for FEMA assistance:
•       Online, at;
•       Via smartphone, by downloading the application from or a mobile App Store; or
•       By phone, toll-free at 800-621-3362.
Disaster survivors who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, and use a Text Telephone, (TTY) may also call 800-462-7585.
Lake County residents are strong and resilient, having experienced and survived an unparalleled twelve disasters since 2015. 
This year is another opportunity to demonstrate our strength in times of challenge.
FEMA assistance is an important and valuable recovery tool.  If you were displaced or otherwise affected by the LNU Lightning Complex event, and some of your losses may not be covered by insurance, please register with FEMA today.